What Are You Kait?

Drenusius I Bernard smiles “we sell all that is good for you, even if you didn’t know yet you needed it. If you talk to my sister it gets worse, you will have ailments you never held possible, or …” he pauses “she will be able to sell you a preventative for it!”

Akari Chiuh cringed and stepped nearer, dark eyes narrowing a touch as they moved over the goods.  Either gloved hand settled atop the counter and she surveyed on, her curiosity truly sparked by such a point. “Oh yes…? Well..well what sort of thins..and ailments..is your sister around..?” she’d quite nearly demanded, a stern glance moving from the items to the shopkeep. She was eager…though this would have to be played with a certain level of intelligence considering the fact that her purse was not entirely bottomless..

Drenusius I Bernard smiles broadly, it must be a very smiley day, as Barat enters. “My sister? hmm i think get in line, if I am able to predict the words to follow this man’s arrival” He looks at Barat “well tal to you eh…” struggling to find future ,,,, eh…… hmm right.. yes Barat, how are you?”

Barat Viper walked in, folding his arms and smirked at Dren for a moment. “Tal, How are you?” said he, his eyes looking to the ceiling above him. “More importantly, how is your sister?” said never being a man to mince words. With a snap of his fingers to a nearby slave “Get the mistress of the house and see if she is well enough to come down or if I should go check on my patient upstairs.” He said with no little authority

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus takes one final look at the tightly stitched opening before completing her grooming. Noting the slave to enter she wonders curiously what is amiss at her curious words. “Who wishes to see me…ahh yes I am indeed feeling well enough for some time out of these stuffy quarters.”

Akari Chiuh looked beside her, something of a frown hinting at her lips, though much to her delight, such an expression was neatly hidden by a series of heavy veils. Admittedly, her discomfort had been forgotten until such a point but.. Ah, her thoughts had trailed off. Upon returning to this particular moment, the woman shuffled aside and continued studying the items, most of which remained entirely foreign. She’d best not try her luck much further..simply purchase something interesting, find her guide and hurry on along..though there had been no instinct that might imply eavesdropping was to remain off limits. And so, she listened on to the pair, a hand, absently, shifting to the purse at her belt. She sighed at the thought.

Drenusius I Bernard nods… “she is much better, I unleashed my needle and thread on her wound and well I hope she doesn’t scar.  But she is much better, I think at least.” He looks back at the woman, “I can sell you a new medicine I have, it is free, as long as you return to tell me what it cured….” he shrugs his shoulder “it is an experiment.” He looks at Barat, not seen since their high bridge encounter and his thoughts wonder back to that day.

Barat Viper nearly lit up when he saw that Kait was swathed from head to toe as he had instructed her. His smirk could have lit the room and he could not help but chuckle, “A vision of loveliness all dress in white like a beacon of hope to the sick and downtrodden.” he said as he leaned back against the doorway, hands used to frame the picture before him with thumbs and forefingers “Yes as fine art you are, lady” said he all proper and no one would was the wiser, he would surmise. When Dren mentioned the wound he did scowl at him. “You two should be ashamed of yourselves, allowing her injury to fester in such a manner. You could have cost her life, Sir! If your stitches were close and fine the scar should be minimal, I will look at it soon…in the cylinder…Kati, come with me…now” Holding his arm out it was obvious he was not taking no for an answer.

Akari Chiuh quite nearly leered at him from under the kerchief, though her curiosity was great enough that it urged her forth. The woman extended a hand and took hold of said item, turning it over in her palm whilst studying it with a raised brow. “Curious..an experiment..” the woman had trailed off, the words dying with the arrival of a woman clad in fantastic white robes. Kar looked them over, shifting a touch and wondering in sincerity if all peoples of Ar dressed with such opulence. Turning her admiration for skepticism, the woman studied on, pensive, and nodded a touch, perhaps more to herself than the gent. “Well I suppose I will judge and return with a verdict,” she’d answered, lightly, a chuckle sounding. She had looked, briefly, between the man and white clad woman, that familiar intrigue lining her features.. smiling, the woman turned and hobbled off. She had more shopping to do…and intended to hunt down that bloody guide of hers.. “Yeh have my thanks..”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus smoothed her hands over the cloying fabric of the robes. They did serve an ideal purpose. They hid any signs of her injury well. Looking from one to the other hearing Barat’s words she thought it best to separate the two now before they begin to debate her health. “Greetings Barat. I can understand your desire to see how well I’ve come along so perhaps the cylinder would be best.” Turning to Dren she offered him a soft greeting. “I feel much better and thank you for your assistance Dren.”

After a brisk and uneventful walk to the Cylinder with Barat being unavoidably delayed a moment on the street…

Elisabeta: “Tal Lady Kaitlin”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus looks around the cylinder giving the woman a nod as they pass before voicing a low greeting, “Tal Lady”

Elisabeta: “Please excuse me, I must be on my way”  Elisabeta slips in the streets of Ar.  Making note of all the people she came into contact with and the locations of buildings.

Barat Viper looked over at the woman in the cylinder with a nod. Taking Kaitlin’s elbow he directed her toward the curtained area…”You know the drill” he said pointing with his chin in the right direction. “Prepare yourself. If you think I am trusting Dren’s judgment or your own. You can think again.” said gruffly before turning to the woman waving her off as she leaves

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus grimaced, “I don’t blame you for your request in the least. I was more than negligent caring for what really was a minor abrasion. It seems to have begun to heal nicely and Dren does offer a fine stitch even if he may seem to be less than the superior Physician he is in his relaxed semi-retirement.” Sliding off the first two layers of the gleaming white robes she exposed the finely laced sutures that had been used to close his swift and necessary handiwork.

Barat Viper took his time, giving the woman time to prepare. Scrubbing his hands meticulously inspecting them after and drying them with a clean cloth before returning to stand just outside of the curtained area. ” Was the packing changed three times a day as I instructed? Was the wound totally clean this time that Dren closed it? Kaitlin .. the negligence you show in regard to your own health has me questioning not only your brother’s skills but your own. I count myself fortunate that the wound you stitched for me did not infect as well” he growled now, obviously baiting her. When he parted the curtains to inspect the damage done by the man he now referred to as “The lunatic” He was ever the professional, peering down at the stitches for a moment before saying to her. “Sorry to say but if you will not scar we will have to add some finer stitches to your brother’s handiwork.” He lowered his voice, leaning closer to grumble in her ear “Never let a brother do the work that a lover might see”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus glared at him for his slight paid to not only her own skill but also that of her brother. “Barat the stitches are fine and thanks to something I’ve been working on the wound will not scar. There will not even be a slight puckering of the skin as evidence that I was once too prideful to take proper care of myself after a few hand have passed. Your instructions were followed to the letter or you can bet my brother would have had even more to say about your competence than you have expressed about his. At some point in the future do you ever expect to have a mutual pride in the others ability or will I always be something that divides you both.” Taking a breath she lifter her arm to show him the improved mobility from even a day or two before. “I am on the mend and do you believe that you will fall into the category of a lover to lament my imperfections?”

Barat Viper looked at the wound, “If you look here and here you will notice the gaps in the stitches where it will not heal properly and believe me lady when I tell you that there will be a sizable scar if not taken care of properly, and scars…if preventable, offend me.” He gave her a wolfish grin, raking fingers through her hair to loosen a few pins before turning to leave the curtained area, went to a cabinet to rummage through the contents until he found what he needed. Returning to her side with a tray, everything laid out in his own obsessive compulsive manner that he had, but only when it came to health. “Remind me to talk to Micah about officially working here as a Physician. If I am to do this more than as a friend then my official status needs to be taken care of.” Pulling out the suture and needle he said “do you need something for the pain, it will probably hurt as much as the stitches, but then I am sure you already know that.” She might notice that he never asked her permission, expecting her to comply in that as she did everything else, not that it mattered, really. He stood for a moment looking at her. His eyes took on that peculiar specter she might have noticed when he treated her in her fever. A detached, cold look of a surgeon, that might frighten a woman not familiar with such, or give her nightmares if greeted in some dark alley by a stranger with that same particular expression. He was usually successful in hiding that particular expression from most, but his guard was lowered in his irritation with the woman and her brother.

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus marveled at his need to ensure she wasn’t scarred. After the familiar caress she was once again subjected to his professional care and she could not help but admire his detached calm and the methodical way he assembled what he needed. “I am learning well that you were indeed a Physician once and it seems a skilled one. I still find it amazing that you would walk away from that to pursue….” She trailed off unsure of what to say as to his vocation. “I am sure Micah will readily accept you as a full Physician with all the rights that bestows if he were to see your work. Perhaps arranging an interview would be ideal and I would be happy to speak of what I know firsthand of your skill.” It would have done her well to tell him she had developed a cream that was only exceeded by the salve of the Priest Kings in its restorative capability of the layers of dermis over a period of time but she had a feeling that would not stop him.

Barat Viper smirked as she spoke of his skill, “You are speaking of my skills as a physician, aren’t you still Kati?” Then talked to her, asking questions, anything at all to take her mind off of what he was doing. He asked her about her youth, about Dren and where he had been. Not that he listened it was just important that she talk to him and get her mind off of what he was doing as he quickly, efficiently added minute stitching that would make a plastic surgeon proud to those already in place by her brother. Finally, “It was not that Dren did a bad job really, It is just that mine is better” said with a smirk as his hand arced around her neck drawing her closer to him, brushing his lips almost chastely over hers while exposed to him. “It is good that you obey me in your dress Kati, I would have been disappointed in you had you disobeyed, but then you knew that, didn’t you slutling? We do not want everyone to know your true nature now do we?” he whispered to her in the cylinder of caste where any might hear, though he had lowered his voice to such a level that she would be certain none could.

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus: The pain of him piercing her skin with the needle served to draw her out of her careful observation of his technique. “A bit of topical anesthesia was warranted or do you simply wish to see me in pain Barat?” She knew she had bypassed his earlier offer of something for pain but she had truly not expected the injury to still remain so tender. His random questions of her past served their purpose as they were far more painful than any medical procedure he might have done. “I did not know Dren to be my brother until the eve of the annual renewal of our companionship. My childhood was not a happy one to say the least. Have you never wondered at my overly youthful appearance? My foster parents could not wait to collect my bride price as it proved to be far more profitable to them than the sale of a child slave.” Her voice tapered off as she had said too much. “I believe you are skilled at many things Barat but I was indeed talking about your medical skills but you do have many other skills it seems.  Some I wish you did not possess. Will you insist on calling me your new pet name when alone? You make me long for the days you called me Kati in that deep voice or was that perhaps what was always in your mind when you gave me a name. You do realize this is all partly your fault. What do you imagine has preoccupied my thoughts to the point that I would fail to notice my arm becoming infected?”

Barat Viper quirked a brow, “So now you will blame me for almost dying?” He chuckled now as he stood next to her, his hand slid from neck to shoulder, kneading and massaging the tense muscles her as he looked down at her calmly. “I will not molest you…not tonight, Kati. I do not molest patients no matter how hard she begs and you did beg so sweetly the other night.” His hand slipped to her neck, wrapping around her throat with the same detached look he had a few moments before, his hand a makeshift collar. “Yes, yes, you will look fine at the end of my couch, and even finer in your concealment with in public.” said canting his face to the side as if inspecting her closely. Leaning to whisper in her ear now his voice silky as the words were spoken as if discussing the weather. “You begged to be my toy, the other night Kait, do you forget that?” Suddenly he stepped back from her offering a charming grin, Speaking in a normal tone. “I will remember that many true statements are made in such situations. But I will not hold you to it. Not til I hear it from your lips when lucid. Now dress, we have things to discuss” With that he turned leaving the curtained area and her to her privacy.

Ucheshi  started out of the building..not seeing nor hearing anyone..the note left upon the desk…had she even been seen..perhaps all one could claim..was seeing a slave..with light skin and dark hair leaving the Physicians cylinder..who might have quickly got lost in the crowds upon the streets of Ar

Barat Viper looked over at the girl, there was something oddly familiar about her. “You, slut!” he snapped, point at his boot as he looked over in the direction of curtained are where Kaitlin was dressing.

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus knew she had said too much even in the lowered tones that only they could possibly hear in the empty cylinder. Quickly dressing to cover her anxiety over her words she made sure to comply with his wishes for full coverage other than the green spark of her eyes above the layers of veils. “I will make you no promises to beg but I will look the picture of prim and confined free woman since that is indeed what I am. I may not remember my words Barat but I do remember yours. Every one of them and they fill me with fear and something else I should be ashamed to admit. There is only once question. When will we be quaffing down a glass of wine or will you not even allow me that final dignity? Oddly enough I touched on this topic briefly with my brother when asking him why he found you more suitable than Zander. You may not like the events of that night but they did seem to convince him of something regarding your suit”. She paid scant attention to the slave he called over.”

Ucheshi was quickly swallowed in the crowd of people passing the cylinder…his voice lost in the din of voices if the people thronging in the streets

Barat Viper shrugged, there was something niggling about the slut, he could not put his finger on it. Looking at Kaitlin as she exited through the sea of green fabric that had given her some small semblance of privacy the girl was dismissed from his thoughts. “I need to tell you what I have discovered about my daughter’s whereabouts.” said as he frowned, looking to the doorway once more.

Barat Viper stopped what he was thinking about to asked Kaitlin, “did that slave look familiar to you, for some reason?”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus glanced toward the doorway then back to the man, “I have been curious about your progress but have not had an opportunity to ask.” She latched onto the new topic about something other than her status at the foot of his couch.  “Oddly she did but I can’t for the life of me imagine why.’

Barat Viper shook his head to clear it. “Well I was going to have her help you but she dodged that arrow. Do not look offended Kait I have seen you around slaves and it does not bring out the best in your when they curl around my boot. I have to wonder how such sweet slaves as those I have brought around you would bring so much ire.” Once again he baited her ruthlessly, before reaching up to straighten her veil and tug the concealing fabric to him, shrouding her even further in the pristine white. “I have traced my child back to Ar, I think. She was taken, but it is certain that this is where they were headed.” Pulling out the likeness he carried, he handed a copy to Kaitlin. “If a woman that looks similar to this is seen by you in some capacity I count on you to tell me immediately” And there it was, his Achilles heel fully exposed. He handed the likeness to Kaitlin. “Share that with your brother, not that he would seem to notice that sort of thing.” Said gruffly covering emotions with a small cough

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus frowned as he commented on her obvious jealousy. “And why exactly would I be pleased about any slave who plied her wares with you making it more than obvious just what they can offer…and I cannot…at least not openly.” Her scandalous admission trailed off as it sunk in what he had revealed as she took the picture from him. “She is here in Ar…are you certain?” She studied the likeness committing it to memory as well as making a mental note to share it with Dren. “You would be amazed at his recall for slave flesh. I will be sure he sees it.” Continuing to stare at the item in her hand she whispered absentmindedly, “she strongly resembles you…but in a feminine way. I am sure I will have no trouble spotting her should we cross paths but what is the likelihood. Do you imagine she is free or slave now.”

Barat Viper clasped his hands behind him as he looked down to Kaitlin while she looked upon the likeness of his now long dead companion. He smirked at her comment, “That is not a picture of my daughter that is a picture of Aria. ” Shaking his head now. “They say that people in love resemble on another, I wonder why that is?” his voice was vastly different not that he spoke of the woman he could not save. He shrugged with seeming indifference. “I am not even sure what I would do if i finally found her. The quest had become all consuming. What do you do with a child raised in slavery? How could she be happy dressed as you are now? How could I make sure she is safe, why would I disturb her life?” There are too many questions and not enough answers. I just know I must find her and then…” he stopped for a moment. “I owe it to the woman that gave her life to have her to see that she has a choice…finally a choice.” He was serious, deadly so as he looked at Kaitlin. Suddenly he smiled, the boyish smile of his youth she might suppose. He doubted she had seen it before. “I am so close” whispered hoarsely

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus stepped closer. She had not missed the telling signs of emotion as he was not the only one who was learning. She was taking in much about this man, how to please him and what boundaries she crossed that displeased him. The slightest lift of his lips in a smile caused an immediate lightening of her demeanor as did the look she saw in his eyes at the moment. Not caring that they were quite in public she rested a hand on his chest giving it a slight stroking caress that spoke of their intimacy even if she had not fully accepted it. “I want you to find some peace with whatever you discover but sadly I can see so many ways this could lead to pain. Have you prepared yourself for what you may find Barat? What if your worst imaginings of her fate have come to pass. How will you deal with that news? How will you measure her happiness? It cannot be against a model of the woman she would have been had fate not ripped the two of you apart when you lost your companion.  If she has lived the life of a slave and known its freedom then how can she wish for anything else?” She didn’t realize wistfulness had crept into her voice but she continued on, “I wish you luck in your search but I worry that the woman you find will not be what you expect.” She continued to slide her hand along the smooth lines of his tunic almost unconsciously caught up in that moment and what he had chosen to share.

Barat Viper rested his hand over hers on his chest. He turned her then, reached for her elbow, directing her to the door of the cylinder. It is time for me to go, Kait and time for you to rest. I think that you will find the healing is quicker and use some of the magic salve on it but not till after the skin has healed over. Do not get it inside the wound. Now do not look so shocked, I have my ways…I know everything. By the way, you look very lovely when in your shift, with a fevered flush. I have a good idea of how you will look when we finally have the opportunity to be alone, and to discover even more about each other. “Oh, and Kati, you will beg and not because of fever and not because of drugs, but because, my slut, you cannot help but be what you are.”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus gave him a concerned glance but didn’t argue with any of his comments. She simply followed along more meekly than she ever imagined she could be. “Must you call me slut?”

Barat Viper turned around grasping her by the arms he leaned to look into her eyes giving her a little shake, “Tell me what you are Kait?”

Kaitlin Constancia Andronicus knew the answer he wanted but she settled on something more accurate, “yours it would seem whether that is Kait, Kati or your new offering” A bit of her fire returned as she swept past him headed in the direction of the shop

Barat Viper laughs as he follows

Leave a reply